ribeye burgers

Seeing a recent news headline – “70 Percent of Ground Beef at Supermarkets Contains ‘Pink Slime’” Reminded me to make a post about one of my recent culinary experiments.

I have a tendency to buy steaks at Costco, and that results in me having lots of frozen beef in the fridge. I was trying to eat my way through a package of ribeyes before they got gross, and decided to get creative and make burgers out of one.

ribeye burger process

ribeye burger process

As you can see above, I used the blender. The resulting meat slurry ended up a little too finely ground for my tastes. If I ever do this again, I’m going to err on the side of “chunky”. Interestingly, these cooked through a good deal faster than the ground chuck I usually use.  I think this might be attributed to the fine grind – the fat is in smaller pieces, could melt faster, and perhaps deep fried the meat from the inside out?

The end result was not bad, but I think I’d have enjoyed the steak more.

2 thoughts on “ribeye burgers

  1. OH. MY. GOD. You use a blender to grind meat? That is the worst idea ever. No wonder they tasted no good. Please never do this again. Get a proper grinder or just have the butcher do it for you, PLEASE!

    • This was not a regular occurrence, just an experiment to use up some meat that was getting a little long in the tooth. It didn’t taste “no good” I just prefer ground chuck.

Leave a Reply

